Apr 21, 2021
Meet the 2021 Award Winners from the AMSSM

The American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) presented the following awards during its 30th Annual Meeting on April 17, 2021.

AMSSM Past Presidents Kimberly Harmon, MD, FAMSSM, and Robert Dimeff, MD, FAMSSM, both received the Founders’ Award on April 17 during the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine (AMSSM) Virtual Annual Meeting. The award is bestowed when AMSSM leadership determines that a member exemplifies the best that a sports medicine physician can be and do.

amssmDr. Harmon was named the 2020 Founders’ Award winner for her many contributions to AMSSM and to the field of sports medicine.

She is the Head Football Team Physician at the University of Washington, team physician at Bishop Blanchet High School, and has been a member of the NCAA Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sports Committee. Dr. Harmon also serves as a consultant to the NCAA on special projects.

“She truly fits the nature of the award,” said Stephen Paul, MD, FAMSSM, a previous recipient of the Founders’ Award. “She has been a mentor to many and a strong advocate for evidence-based clinical research.

Dr. Dimeff was presented with the 2021 Founders’ Award during the Virtual Annual Meeting. He is a Past President of AMSSM and the AMSSM Foundation and has personally mentored and educated numerous fellows who later became fellowship directors, who then brought decades of their own mentees into the active ranks of AMSSM membership.

He currently serves as the team physician for the NHL’s Dallas Stars, consultant physician to the World Olympic Gymnastics Academy, medical director of the Dallas Rock-n-Roll Half Marathon, and member of the United States Anti-Doping Review Board. Dr. Dimeff previously served as the team physician for the NFL’s Cleveland Browns and NBA’s Cleveland Cavaliers.

“To honor what Dr. Dimeff has done on so many levels, so consistently, for the benefit of AMSSM over himself or any individual seems to exemplify what the founders had in mind to move our entire profession onward under the collegial auspices of AMSSM,” said Incoming AMSSM Foundation President Susan Joy, MD, FAMSSM.

Below are the rest of the winners from the different categories.

Best Overall Research Award – Yetsa Tuakli-Wosornu, MD, MPH – The Athletes Rights Survey: A Step Towards Intentional Injury (Abuse) Prevention In Sport

Harry Galanty Young Investigator Award – Ashley Austin, MD – Sudden Cardiac Arrest in Adolescent Male Basketball Players: Survival Outcomes at School-Sponsored Versus AAU/Select Events

The Harry L. Galanty, MD Young Investigator’s Award is presented at the Annual Meeting for the most outstanding research presentation by a member who is a sports medicine fellow or who has recently completed fellowship training. The award was established in 2003 to honor Harry Galanty, MD, a charter member of the AMSSM, who passed away in 1999 at the age of 36. Dr. Galanty’s contributions to sports medicine combined service and a commitment to teaching and research.

NCAA Research Award – Nicole Katz, BS – Collegiate Athletes with Female Athlete Triad Risk Factors Are At A Greater Risk Of Trabecular-Rich Bone Stress Injuries

» ALSO SEE: Physical Activity Offers ‘Strong Protection’ from Worst COVID Outcomes

The NCAA Award for best research presentation addresses the health and safety issues of college athletes.

Best Overall Case Presentations

  • Stephanie Carey, MD, MPH – Numbness, Tingling, And Pain, Oh My: Unexpected Etiology Of Leg Pain In A Football Player
  • Connor Mitrovich, DO – Post-traumatic Blurry Vision In A Highly Competitive Soccer Player

Resident Scholarship Award Winners

  • Joseph Benert, MD
  • Emma Cronk, MD
  • Will Hollabaugh, MD
  • Matt LaCourse, MD
  • Leina’ala Song, MD
  • Sara Walker, MD, MS

South Bend/Notre Dame Resident Scholarship Awards

  • Brian Atkinson, MD
  • Christina Pedro, MD, MBA
  • Justin Reed, MD
  • Rock Vomer, DO, DPT

Galen Medical Student Scholarship Awards                       

  • Brittany Ammerman, MBS
  • Nicole Katz, BS
  • Eileen Storey, BA

Jason Davenport Memorial Scholarship Awards

  • Marisa Jayakar, MD
  • Alberto Oseguera, MD

Shop see all »

75 Applewood Drive, Suite A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345
website development by deyo designs
Interested in receiving the print or digital edition of Training & Conditioning?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check out our sister sites: